View Link
English Department Prizes, Deadline April 8
Event Type: ALL CAMPUS
 
Monday, March 18, 2013
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Calendar:
Announcements
Contact:
Christina Bolio
Department:English
THE FRED PFEIL MEMORIAL PRIZE IN CREATIVE WRITING
This Prize is awarded annually for a piece of literary work (fiction, poetry, play script, screenplay, creative nonfiction) which addresses issues of social justice and the impact of culture and politics on human relationships.
One submission per student.
 
THE TRINITY ALUMNUS PRIZES IN FICTION
Prizes awarded for short stories of any length. 
One submission per student.
 
JOHN CURTIS UNDERWOOD MEMORIAL PRIZES IN POETRY 
Prizes awarded for up to four pages of original poetry.
Up to four pages of poetry per student.
 
THE ACADEMY OF AMERICAN POETS PRIZE
An award for one poem of any length
(with possible publication in a nationally distributed journal). 
One submission per student.
 
THE FRANK W. WHITLOCK PRIZES IN DRAMA
Prizes awarded for one-act play scripts. 
One submission per student.
 
THE ALUMNI PRIZES IN ENGLISH COMPOSITION
Prizes awarded for expository writing.  Essays originally written for college courses will be accepted if conscientiously revised and retyped.
One submission per student.
 
THE F.A. BROWN PRIZES IN PUBLIC SPEAKING 
Prizes awarded for an original persuasive speech, 5-8 minutes in length, on a contemporary issue of your choice.  Students wishing to enter this contest must sign up with Christina Bolio in the English Department by Friday, April 12th.
Contestants will deliver their speeches starting at
6:30 p.m. on April 16th, 2013 in Rittenberg Lounge, Mather Hall.
 
DEADLINE for all submissions (except speeches) is MONDAY, APRIL 8th at 11:59 p.m.
 
SUBMISSION GUIDELINES:
- Send your work and a cover sheet as email attachments to englishdepartment@trincoll.edu
- Please include a separate cover sheet with your name and box number.
- DO NOT put your name on your work (to ensure anonymity for judging).
- Work submitted after the April 8th deadline will NOT be considered.
- Submissions will not be returned.
- Contest winners will be notified prior to the Honors Day Ceremony on   Friday, May 3, 2013, at 3:30 p.m. in the College Chapel.
- Contests are open to all undergraduate students (including IDP students) presently registered at Trinity College.
Related Events
Event DateEvent TimeTitleLocation
3/18/2013 Mon
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM English Department Prizes, Deadline April 8 
3/19/2013 Tue
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM English Department Prizes, Deadline April 8 
3/20/2013 Wed
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM English Department Prizes, Deadline April 8 
3/21/2013 Thu
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM English Department Prizes, Deadline April 8 
3/22/2013 Fri
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM English Department Prizes, Deadline April 8 
3/23/2013 Sat
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM English Department Prizes, Deadline April 8 
3/24/2013 Sun
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM English Department Prizes, Deadline April 8 
3/25/2013 Mon
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM English Department Prizes, Deadline April 8 
3/26/2013 Tue
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM English Department Prizes, Deadline April 8 
3/27/2013 Wed
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM English Department Prizes, Deadline April 8 
3/28/2013 Thu
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM English Department Prizes, Deadline April 8 
3/29/2013 Fri
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM English Department Prizes, Deadline April 8 
3/30/2013 Sat
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM English Department Prizes, Deadline April 8 
3/31/2013 Sun
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM English Department Prizes, Deadline April 8 
4/1/2013 Mon
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM English Department Prizes, Deadline April 8 
4/2/2013 Tue
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM English Department Prizes, Deadline April 8 
4/3/2013 Wed
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM English Department Prizes, Deadline April 8 
4/4/2013 Thu
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM English Department Prizes, Deadline April 8 
4/5/2013 Fri
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM English Department Prizes, Deadline April 8 
4/6/2013 Sat
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM English Department Prizes, Deadline April 8 
4/7/2013 Sun
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM English Department Prizes, Deadline April 8 
4/8/2013 Mon
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM English Department Prizes, Deadline April 8 
Add to Personal Calendar
Download iCal
Google Calendar
Yahoo Calendar
Windows Live

http://b28.cc.trincoll.edu/PublicMasterCalendar/EventDetails.aspx?data=hHr80o3M7J604BNO7dHnKa304AiB6%2fC6CNlaUDoCHDxV64FUD7q1TQyzPSZc1FMX